mahidol_logo_smallInitially established as Thailand’s first medical school in 1888, Mahidol University, formerly known as Siriraj Medical School became the Faculty of Medicine for Chulalongkorn University by decree of King Vajiravudh, or Rama VI in 1917. By 1943, the government of Pibul Songkhram separated Siriraj Medical School from Chulalongkorn, along with the department of dentistry, pharmacy and veterinarian sciences to form the University of Medical Sciences ( in Thai มหาวิทยาลัยแพทย์ศาสตร์).

Therefore its official founding is considered to be February 7, 1943. Its name was officially changed to Mahidol University in 1969 by H.M. King Bhumipol Adulyadej in honor of his father, Prince Mahidol, considered to be the father of modern Thai Medicine.

Though Mahidol University has primarily been  known for it’s prestigious medical programs, in recent decades, Mahidol has broadened its academic horizons, spanning needs across Buisness Administration, Social Sciences, Technology and the Arts.

Its original campus is located on the former parameter of the old Rear Palace in Thonburi on the western flank of the Chao Phraya river: Bangkok Noi Campus houses:

  • Siriraj Faculty of Medicine (i.e. Siriraj Hospital)
  • Faculty of Nursing
  • Faculty of Medical Technology
  • Faculty of Physical Therapy and Applied Movement Sciences

The Payathai campus links three plots covering 78 acres. Located near Victory Monument, it is home to:

  • Ramathibodi Hospital
  • Hospital for Tropical Diseases
  • Faculty of Denistry
  • Faculty of Pharmacy
  • Faculty of Public Health
  • Faculty of Tropical Medicine
  • Faculty of Science
  • Faculty of Medicine
  • Institue for innovation and development of learning process
  • National Doping Control Center
  • Mahidol University Computing Center

Located in the western Bangkok suburb of Nakhon Pathom is the 520 acre Salaya Campus which includes its Central library, eight swimming pools, office of the President, various research departments, and the center for its international programs. Additionally, MU has expanded with addition of three rural campuses in Kanchanaburi, Nakhon Sawan, and Amnat Charoen provinces.

MU was ranked as the top most university based on it’s research power and it’s academia by the Thai commission on higher education in 2005. Its primary campus is in Banglamhu, Bangkok and its International campus at Nakhon Pathom

Leave a Reply

Leave a Reply