chulalongkorn_logoChulalongkorn University was founded in 1917 by King Vachiravudh, or Rama VI. Named after his father and predecessor, King Rama V, Chulalongkorn is the first and oldest higher learning institution in the Kingdom. With one of the most competitive and selective admissions policies, it is considered by many to be amongst the most prestigious  academic institutions in Thailand.

CU’s main campus is in central Bangkok next to the popular shopping district home to Paragon, Siam Square, MBK, and Siam Discovery, also in close vicinity to Royal Sports Club and National Stadium. As part of its famed faculty of Medicine (which initially was split in 1943 to form Mahidol University, later to be revived) is King Chulalongkorn Memorial Hospital, where some of the country’s most respected doctors are educated and trained.

Thammasat University was initially established from Chulalongkorn’s faculty of Law and Political Science following the 1932 Revolution which saw the end of Absolute Monarchy; The early constitutionalists intent was to separate the political discipline from the Royalists’ dictation. Up to this day, the two oldest Universities maintain a healthy rivalry most apparent in the annual football (soccer) match held in January, noted by Chula fans sporting their school color pink against Thammasat’s red.

Its affiliations include

  • Association of Pacific Rim Universties (APRU)
  • Association of Southeast Asian Institutions of Higher Learning (ASAIHL)
  • Asean University Network (AUN)

Its academic structure consists of four core Faculties:

  • Factulty of Arts & Sciences
  • Faculty of Medicine
  • Faculty of Engineering
  • Faculty of International Relations

Leave a Reply

Leave a Reply